Monday, November 09, 2009

Some strange World Series facts are still true

The World Series has been over for a few days now...

And yes, Johnny Damon and Eric Hinske have indeed joined Ramiro Mendoza as the only living players with World Series rings with the Red Sox and Yankees.

But there are some other odd World Series facts that came true as well.

Assuming the NL Cy Young winner will be either Adam Wainwright, Chris Carpenter or Tim Linecum and also assuming the AL Cy Young winner will not be a Yankees... then once again we have another World Series without a Cy Young winner.

The last World Series to feature a Cy Young winner was 2001... which actually featured both Cy Young Winners (Randy Johnson of Arizona and Roger Clemens of the Yankees.) That was one of only 4 World Series in history to feature both Cy Young winners.

Also Albert Pujols is a lock for the NL MVP, so the World Series still hasn't featured the MVP of the AL and the MVP of the NL since 1988 when Kirk Gibson's Dodgers beat Jose Canseco's A's.

Mark Teixeira and Derek Jeter have outside chances at the AL MVP. But if it goes to Joe Mauer, then the AL MVP will once again not be featured in the World Series. Rickey Henderson was the last AL MVP to play for a pennant winners (although Albert Belle got robbed in 1995 by Mo Vaughn.)

And when the Rockies were eliminated, any hope for the first "All Expansion Team World Series" was squashed.

Oh I am sure I can come up with some more facts... but I've got to get some sleep.

1 comment:

  1. Thanks extremely practical. Will share website with my good friends
    buy Minomycin 100mg online